Sendai Framework

The Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015-2030 is supported by the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNIDSR) at the request of the UN General Assembly. It was adopted at the Third World Conference on Disaster Risk Reduction in Sendai, Japan in March 2015, and is the successor instrument to the Hyogo Framework for Action 2005-2015: Building the Resilience of Nations and Communities to Disasters.  A key objective of the Sendai Framework is to encourage UN Member States to follow successful case studies that have gone beyond disaster management, specifically, instances that have addressed the risks that drive disaster losses.  

The Sendai Framework includes:

  • 7 Global Targets
  • 13 Guiding Principles
  • 4 Priorities for Action
  • 4 Levels (local, national, regional, global)

Source: United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Relief – Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction